Author Topic: Looking for Build suggestion (wanting melee, possibly with ranged)  (Read 2181 times)

Offline lonesome_killer

• Peasant
  • Renown: 7
  • Infamy: 0
  • cRPG Player
    • View Profile
I just started playing a few days ago.  I got a STF character and went the Derpy Crossbow route.  I die too easily and it's hard to kill people.  I've been asking around and it seems 1h/shield seems to be the best route.  What kind of builds do you recommend?  Also, would it be possible to have a ranged weapon to go along with it?  Or should I go polearm to help fight horses and have the extra range in melee?

Offline Mallets

• Earl
  • Renown: 394
  • Infamy: 22
  • cRPG Player
    • View Profile
  • Game nicks: Mallets and his family
Re: Looking for Build suggestion (wanting melee, possibly with ranged)
« Reply #1 on: April 11, 2012, 06:31:07 am »
Well, from what I've seen, most folks who want to melee as a primary, but have ranged as a secondary... they seem to go with the Crossbow (over Bow).  That's because Xbows don't take up any Skill points.  Where as you need points into Power Draw for bows.

Now you can take an Xbow with a Shielder, Polearm, or 2-Hander build.  It's really up to you.

Others take Throwing as a secondary attack.  It's ranged, but from a much shorter distance.  Mind you, for Throwing, you'll need to put points into Power Throw.  This can vary.  It seems like a lot of Hybrid build (like myself, Polearm/Throwing Hybrid) use Heavy Throwing Axes... which take 4 Power Throw.  But you can take 1 PT and use Darts effectively (though 2 PT for War Darts is much better).  Some go 6 PT for War Spears.  Though the folks that start to use the throwing spears/javelins tend to be Primary Thrower.  Hybrid guys tend to stick to Throwing Axes or Darts cause they cost less Skill points... yet still are effective.