Author Topic: xbow question  (Read 1308 times)

Offline Snowman191

• Peasant
  • Renown: 2
  • Infamy: 0
    • View Profile
  • Faction: CUP CLAN
  • Game nicks: Snowman191
xbow question
« on: March 14, 2013, 05:57:32 pm »
+1
I've realized I'm not good at melee, and probably never will be, and am going into xbow. I plan on going arbalest/mace or arbalest/some 0 slot sword.

My question is, which is better? Do steel bolts run out so quickly that I would need 2 slots worth of them or will 12 last me? I'm bad at melee so should I just go with the extra ammo anyway?

I'm in my first gen, any help is appreciated.

Offline Bifi

• Count
  • Renown: 211
  • Infamy: 6
  • cRPG Player A Gentleman and a Scholar
    • View Profile
  • Faction: Caravan Guild
  • Game nicks: Bifi, Mr_Turtle
  • IRC nick: Bifi
Re: xbow question
« Reply #1 on: March 14, 2013, 06:09:05 pm »
+3
You should read this guide, written by DaveUKR.
It's kinda outdated, but most things are still valid.
The most significant changes are probably 0 slot weapons and the number of slots crossbows take nowadays.
[16:30] <@cmp> real programmers don't make webpages
Quote from: cmpxchg8b
- fixed Jesus bug

Offline Lennu

• Marshall
  • Renown: 774
  • Infamy: 94
  • cRPG Player Sir White Bishop
    • View Profile
  • Faction: Fallen Brigade
  • Game nicks: Fallen_Lennu
  • IRC nick: Lennu_
« Reply #2 on: March 14, 2013, 06:32:42 pm »
Going for ranged because you aren't good in melee is not really a good option. You will be forced to fight in melee anyway, so I suggest you get used to the idea that you'll need to learn manual blocking and all the other wonders of the melee combat anyway.
The reload time for Arbalest is so long that 1 stack of bolts will do fine. So the mace will be a good choice for you. It has the incredibly overpowered knockdown, and the 2h wpf will help you in the duel server, where you WILL be spending a lot of time getting better at melee.  :wink:

Offline Snowman191

• Peasant