Author Topic: complete newb here  (Read 490 times)

Offline betard_lulz

• Count
  • Renown: 179
  • Infamy: 167
  • cRPG Player
    • View Profile
complete newb here
« on: July 09, 2012, 07:55:43 pm »
Would you guys recommend starting up a separate strat character? Also if I were to start strat now with my current "main"(although he isnt declared as such) would all his stuff transfer over?
Edit: This will be my first time ever doing strategus and I am looking to start relatively soon.

Offline Knute

• Strategus Councillor
  • Renown: 682
  • Infamy: 21
  • cRPG Player A Gentleman and a Scholar
    • View Profile
  • Faction: Free Peasants of Fisdnar
Re: complete newb here
« Reply #1 on: July 09, 2012, 09:10:07 pm »
+2
Use the type of character you enjoy playing the most for your main/strategus character.  Two reasons: 

When you play strategus battles you can get tons of xp so that will help your main character level up faster.  Just yesterday I did a npc town defense and a npc castle defense, both about 1.5 hours each and must have got like 500-600k xp.

It's going to change in the somewhat near future but right now you earn crafting skill points for the gear that you're wearing whenever you get a "all thine hard work has paid off" message while playing regular cRPG servers.  So if you play that character a lot wearing the same set of gear it'll be useful.  For example, in Strategus buying 100 sets of Sarranid guard armor for your troops would cost 108 each but if you have 19 crafting skill points that would give you a 54% discount so you could make them instead for 50 gold each.

Offline betard_lulz

• Count
  • cRPG Player
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: July 09, 2012, 09:11:38 pm »
Thank you sir. Another question then. Retiring, recommended in strat?

Offline Knute

• Strategus Councillor
  • Renown: 682
  • Infamy: 21
  • cRPG Player A Gentleman and a Scholar
    • View Profile
  • Faction: Free Peasants of Fisdnar