Author Topic: Head Shots Need to Be Re-Balanced.  (Read 2781 times)

Offline Celduin_Nienna

• Noble
  • Renown: 10
  • Infamy: 10
  • cRPG Player A Gentleman and a Scholar
    • View Profile
  • Faction: None.
  • Game nicks: Battle_Angel_Arqa
Head Shots Need to Be Re-Balanced.
« on: November 13, 2011, 08:34:32 am »
Head Shots from ranged weapons need to be looked at and rebalanced.

I am not an expert on this but this is my experience.

My character with 30 Strength and 10 Iron Flesh and a Great Helmet (53 Head Armour) routinely gets 1 Shot Killed by ranged weapon shots to the head.

Yet, a 8-10 Power Strike melee combatant with a Great Long Axe who wacks me directly to the head will on average only take 50% of my health.

This is wrong, and unbalanced and needs to be changed.

I am not against Head Shots, and dont think they need to be removed. But they need to take serious account of the Head Armour Value of the person helmet, which at present I do not believe they are doing. Because at the moment it seems that Range Weapon shots to the head completely ignore head armour and this wrong.

My suggestions is that the Head Armour value of the Helmet should give a Percentage Chance to completely negate the head shot. For example a Great Helmet would give a 53% chance to negate incoming head shots from range weapons, and the attack would deal damage normally, as any other weapon attack to the head.

What are other peoples ideas / feelings about this matter?

I just see Head shots happening far far too frequently on people wearing the heaviest helmets. They should be a fairly rare "Lucky shot" and head armour should give a chance to survive them.

Also could any Dev give me a detailed description of how head shots damage is calculated, and whether or not Head Armour does actually make any difference to them at all?

Thanks for reading!