Author Topic: [Newb] Starter build/gear  (Read 564 times)

Offline Nonary

• Peasant
  • Renown: 1
  • Infamy: 0
  • cRPG Player
    • View Profile
[Newb] Starter build/gear
« on: October 20, 2011, 09:37:06 pm »
Hello!

I recently started playing cRPG, and right now I've already respecced several times, trying to figure out what I want to do. So far I've only tried archer-hybrids (1h/shield, 2h, 1h/noshield) based on builds that I found on these forums, but I'm still in doubt of what I can and can't do, in terms of gear and build.

I've (sort of) given up on the idea of bringing a bow everywhere, and am now trying to think of a shield-build. A Cour Bouilli Over Mail with a Barbutte is my starting items that I figured would work, but I'm pretty clueless on how much I can get before upkeep becomes a problem (I read somewhere on these forums that 46k+ is unrealistic, and that I should try to keep it under 40k total). I'm also pretty much clueless on what weapons to get, and whether to do a spear or a 1h shield-build.

I've already looked through these forums for the past few days, but I figured I'd try my luck with a personal thread. So here I am, asking for some pointers for a decent shield build that isn't too team reliant (I play very casually) and fun to play. :)

Thank you in advance,
Nonary

Offline Riddaren

• Duke
  • Renown: 601
  • Infamy: 298
  • cRPG Player Sir White Pawn
    • View Profile
  • Faction: Burg Krems
  • Game nicks: Riddaren, Matthaus
Re: [Newb] Starter build/gear
« Reply #1 on: October 20, 2011, 10:34:36 pm »
New players:
Use cheap equipment with your main character. This will save you a lot of money that you will be happy to have later on.

All players:
Do not retire your main character. If you want variation you can get it by picking a new build after retirement (or use alt characters, which I suggest you don't respec either).

XP generation bonus: