Author Topic: Skirmisher Build  (Read 1312 times)

Offline Beat

• Mighty
  • Knight
  • Renown: 71
  • Infamy: 3
  • cRPG Player A Gentleman and a Scholar
    • View Profile
Skirmisher Build
« on: June 30, 2011, 03:22:34 am »
I've been playing Mount and Blade since beta but I'm new to cRPG.  What a fool I've been for not getting into this earlier!

After perusing the forums a bit I haven't really seen anyone talking about skirmisher builds.  It's all pure infantry or pure archer.  Maybe I haven't looked enough or maybe it's because it's a bad idea in this cRPG environment, but historically skirmishers have been quite useful and I had this concept for a character before even coming to the forums and I'm already somewhat committed to it.

Strength: 15
    Agility: 21
    Hit points: 60

Ironflesh: 5
    Power Strike: 3
    Shield: 5
    Athletics: 7
    Riding: 0
    Horse Archery: 0
    Power Draw: 5
    Power Throw: 0
    Weapon Master: 7

One Handed: 58
    Archery: 160

The idea is to be a good archer and still be able to hold my own against infantry or at least stall them until help arrives.  I mostly play siege mode and it has served my play style well so far.  I start out sniping enemy archers or a few infantry and when the walls are breached I can support the infantry with my shield and last longer on the flag.   I have also become adept at collecting arrows when I have a spare moment as having only 1 slot available for arrows is one of the inherent weaknesses of a build like this. 

Since I'm only level 22 I don't get many kills, and I'd imagine spreading my stats out like this will ensure that I still don't become a killing machine even at higher levels.  I don't care so much about that.  I focus on winning matches, and having a high kill count doesn't guarantee success.  I switch from ranged to melee when needed and I think I do a pretty good job of supporting my team.