Author Topic: Speedy Long Spear/Pike build help? & General piking tips?  (Read 3332 times)

Offline WhiteAndMilky

• Knight
  • Renown: 32
  • Infamy: 16
    • View Profile
Speedy Long Spear/Pike build help? & General piking tips?
« on: August 31, 2012, 09:14:41 pm »
Hello, I am new to cRPG. I am currently playing a 21/18 polearm build (at 21/14 right now) and I made a stf alt that is 15/24, wearing very light or almost no armor. I like the speed of the second, but one hit and I can be dead.

Some details:
1. I don't have the best ping, (130-200 sometimes) which makes it very difficult to parry or have close range battles, that's why I took to playing pikeman in the firstplace, to keep people at range. So I generally think a more AGI based pikeman build is better. So I can stay at range and avoid being forced into high ping parry attempts.
2. Pike is difficulty level 13, so that's my STR minimum.
3. Maybe it would be nice to carry a 2H Mace with me, just as a last resort when someone charges me, since it only takes up one spot. But I don't know what to do about wpf with this and polearm.
4. I am new, so any advice about actual playstyle and abilities would help me greatly.

If someone could help me out with a build plan I would really appreciate it.

Thanks and have a good one!

Offline Sandersson Jankins

• King
  • Renown: 1450
  • Infamy: 223
  • cRPG Player Sir White Bishop
    • View Profile
  • Faction: CSA Apologists
  • Game nicks: fnord
  • IRC nick: "There's always a bigger nerd"- Qui-Gong Jim, Star Trek IV: Electric Boogalo
Re: Speedy Long Spear/Pike build help? & General piking tips?
« Reply #1 on: September 01, 2012, 02:08:09 am »
+2
I've played a couple generations as pure pole-arm and here's what I did.
21/21
7ATH
7PS
3WM
130 or so pole wpf