Author Topic: Alternate Development Strategy/Suggestions for grandeur  (Read 469 times)

Offline ITHROWSHIT

• Peasant
  • Renown: 1
  • Infamy: 0
  • cRPG Player
    • View Profile
Alternate Development Strategy/Suggestions for grandeur
« on: January 20, 2011, 09:31:18 am »
I need to repost this because im concerned about the mod's current path to monotony.
This mod has incredible potential if we can stop nerfing everyhing! the game is fun because it is highly lethal! the realism is its strength, and the prospect of becoming ultra powerful makes it addicting.

when i started playing, some players could become invincible superheros. ok, cool, awesome, this games rad! what? why are people complaining? teams would rally behind their leader and fear their nemesis, it was fun!

formula: Impossible lethality + prospect of gaining an unfair advantage = successful online game

current events: toy weapons (safe for our younger players) + relentless stat balancing = ok im getting over it

I PROPOSE AN ALTERNATE DEVELOPMENT STRATEGY: IF YOU THINK SOMETHING IS OVERPOWERED, INSTEAD OF NERFING IT YOU SHOULD BUFF EVERYTHING ELSE! I WANT TO REACH LEVEL 80 AND BLOW PEOPLE 30 FEET ACROSS THE MAP IN ONE SWING TO DIE FROM FALLING DAMAGE! I WANT TO FIRE 6 ARROWS AT ONCE THAT KNOCK PEOPLE DOWN! I WANT TO THROW LANCES THROUGH MULTIPLE PEOPLE AND PIN THEIR RAGDOLLS TO THE WALL! I WANT TO USE SIEGE LADDERS AS A 2H CLUB!!!!!!!! soo much potential.....

why do you have to work just to build up to average level? its no longer possible to be an elite character, so why is there any RPG element to it at all? I only ever had a problem with unrealist technical things like gauntlets reloading xbows, or wearing leather armor and being outrun by tincans, or 5 arrows breaking my shields, or dieing from a xbow bolt to the hand. besides those things, the game had no problems before the patch.

to recap, proposed changes/features:
  • Remove soft and hard caps, all of them.