Author Topic: Viability of 1H/shield with no armor  (Read 2168 times)

Offline galneon

• Beggar
  • Renown: 0
  • Infamy: 0
  • cRPG Player
    • View Profile
Viability of 1H/shield with no armor
« on: June 01, 2011, 02:38:17 am »
I just started playing today and am considering the following build for my first character:

Level 31 (8 892 403 xp)

Strength: 12
    Agility: 24
    Hit points: 47

Ironflesh: 0
    Power Strike: 4
    Shield: 8
    Athletics: 8
    Riding: 0
    Horse Archery: 0
    Power Draw: 0
    Power Throw: 4
    Weapon Master: 8

One Handed: 170
    Two Handed: 1
    Polearm: 1
    Archery: 1
    Crossbow: 1
    Throwing: 50

My idea for gear would be a light shield, plain clothes, a side sword or a long espada (can I get some opinions on which of these two?) and some darts to soften up plate targets (they seem more useful than shurikens in this right).  The idea is speed, but I'd be paper and 1-hittable by almost anyone, especially considering all the 2-handers out there.

Is this is a romanticized build or is it viable?  I've only started playing Warband today and before that hadn't played M&B original since beta.  Even if I wasn't a newb, could this type of build ever kick much ass?  If I want to be a cookie-cutter slow tin can, I'd have chosen 2H or pole arms, so I'd really like to keep armor to a bare minimum, preferably none.

If this sounds like garbage, would the identical character but with polearm instead be preferable?  Would 15/21 work better for the 1H build?

Thanks for the input!

Offline rustyspoon

• Marshall
  • Renown: 794
  • Infamy: 164
  • cRPG Player A Gentleman and a Scholar
    • View Profile
  • Game nicks: Rustyspoon, Sir_Rusty_Of_Spoon, Rusty_the_Spoonarian
Re: Viability of 1H/shield with no armor
« Reply #1 on: June 01, 2011, 02:53:45 am »