Author Topic: Potential Shield Builds?  (Read 1118 times)

Offline Tenzek

• Beggar
  • Renown: 0
  • Infamy: 0
  • cRPG Player
    • View Profile
Potential Shield Builds?
« on: March 15, 2011, 01:34:31 am »
I have been playing on and off for a while as a two-hander and recently picked up a shield on a new character to try it out. So far I am ejoying the shield user, even though I am not very good at it just yet.

I have a few build ideas that I was looking for feedback on.

Firstly, I know that I am using a Knightly Arming Sword as my primary weapon that I plan to heirloom first. I am unsure of the armor, but likely heraldic mail just like almost everyone else. My shield is either going to be a basic heater shield (the one with the lion symbol, not the half moon), a knightly heater shield, or possibly a huscarl if my final build takes a lot of shield skill.

Build #1: High Strength, simple and focused
Currently using this build.

Strength: 24
Agility: 15
Hit points: 59

One Handed: 148

Converted: 8
Ironflesh: 0
Power Strike: 8
Shield: 5
Athletics: 5
Riding: 0
Horse Archery: 0
Power Draw: 0
Power Throw: 0
Weapon Master: 5

Build #1a

I have also considered a similar 21/15 build with 7 PS and Iron flesh and 5 in shield/atheltics/WM

Build #2 Throwing hybrid, similar to above

Strength: 21
Hit points: 56

One Handed: 134
Throwing: 80

Converted: 2
Power Strike: 7
Power Throw: 7

I know that these are common right now, but I am only guessing at how they tend to be designed.

Build 3

Strength: 15
Agility: 21

One Handed: 164

Ironflesh: 3
Power Strike: 5
Shield: 7
Athletics: 7
Weapon Master: 7

Or similar to above, the balanced build with 18/18, 6 in all relevant skills but 5 Iron Flesh. If I go with a faster/weaker build I might consider heirlooming a pick instead of a sword.