Author Topic: Suggestion: Siege Preparations  (Read 609 times)

Offline hotcobbler

• Knight
  • Renown: 33
  • Infamy: 4
  • cRPG Player
  • Jesus or a gun? How about both son?
    • View Profile
  • Faction: Order of the Knights Hospitaller
  • Game nicks: Hospitaller_Featherbottom
Suggestion: Siege Preparations
« on: July 19, 2011, 05:57:47 pm »
I'm new to Strat, but I have a suggestion for the new version. I know these kind of changes take time, so this is long-term.

I propose a system where investing a castle takes significantly more time than it does now. Raiding and capturing a village with no walls is one thing, but to take a castle should take up significant resources and time for the attackers. I'm talking about being frozen there for at least 48 hours, maybe more. Also, there should be some special items/supplies needed to imvest a castle, such as shovels, tents, battering rams, towers, etc... that must be in the army inventory befoe initiating a siege. This would make longterm planning more important and allow for counter attacks.

My reasoning behind this is twofold: in reality, most sieges took months if not years. Also, this would prevent bigger clans from blitzing smaller ones sooooo easily.

Any input is appreciated.
« Last Edit: July 19, 2011, 05:58:59 pm by hotcobbler »
Damn right I drink beer sideways.

visitors can't see pics , please register or login

Offline PhantomZero

• Earl
  • Renown: 384
  • Infamy: 53
  • cRPG Player
  • I'm going to need you playing at 6AM on Saturday..
    • View Profile
  • Faction: BIRD CLAN
  • Game nicks: POSTMASTER_PHANTOM0_OF_BIRD
  • IRC nick: PhantomZero
Re: Suggestion: Siege Preparations
« Reply #1 on: July 20, 2011, 05:18:42 am »
I'm new to Strat, but I have a suggestion for the new version. I know these kind of changes take time, so this is long-term.