Author Topic: Ideas on what makes a map fun to play.  (Read 601 times)

Offline Torost

• Count
  • Renown: 292
  • Infamy: 109
  • cRPG Player A Gentleman and a Scholar
    • View Profile
Ideas on what makes a map fun to play.
« on: August 31, 2011, 04:43:31 am »
+2
I am very happy that people are making new scenes, thank you!
Its refreshing and fun to be surprised by new content.

I did not find any sticky or recent post with ideas concerning what makes a scene fun and playable, so I wrote this up to maybe trigger some more discussion.
I have no experience with creating scenes, but I have played alot of them.
Below I have written an incoherent wall-of-text where i address some aspects I believe makes a scene good and fun.
I have played mostly as dedicated archer, so there is a focus/bias on some aspects.

This is meant as encouragement to make more scenes and not as criticism of existing scenes.
I hope this is useful for some of the great scenemakers out there.

Spawns:

-Spacious enough for a large crowd to spawn without getting stuck. Less bumping,teamwounding,TKing by mistake,less frustration.
-No line of sight of enemy spawn. Makes tactical surprises possible and enemy ranged cannot fire directly into the the tightly packed spawning group.
-Some obstacles and landscape that slows down/makes it harder to manoeuvre a horse in. Makes early cavrush on spawn abit harder, giving slowspawners, or defenseless units a chance to prepare/move before facing multiple cav in the open.
-Has some clues that points/funnels the players towards the enemy. So that players do not run the wrong way and hit mapedge.

Buildings:

Roofs that are intended to be used for play should be accessible from the groundlevel. Avoid access via trickjumping,including mounted player jumping with horse.
If one wishes to make an archersnest, make the way up very exposed,slow or easy to defend.