Author Topic: 18th century warfare, a question  (Read 4555 times)

Offline Adamar

• He who doesn't want to be labelled
  • Earl
  • Renown: 422
  • Infamy: 319
  • cRPG Player
    • View Profile
18th century warfare, a question
« on: May 29, 2012, 12:17:30 am »
Did the infantry really just march forward while getting shot at?

Offline Torost

• Count
  • Renown: 292
  • Infamy: 109
  • cRPG Player A Gentleman and a Scholar
    • View Profile
Re: 18th century warfare, a question
« Reply #1 on: May 29, 2012, 05:11:18 am »
I am no expert.This is just what I believe to be true, not factchecked.

But yes, sort off.

Soldiers were "cheap", required little trainingtime to learn how to load and fire a musket/rifle.
And inorder to assure that soldiers did their duty, there was a strict regiment of drills and manovers. No way to hide or act cowardly.
The regiment commander did not have the pistol and saber for use on the enemy, but to enforce disiplin within their own ranks.

The pitched battles were in some cases very large. Hard to move and organize if the battalions did not move as planned.

Offline Christo

• Dramaturge
  • King
  • Renown: 1844
  • Infamy: 371
  • cRPG Player
    • View Profile
  • Faction: No faction, methinks.
  • Game nicks: Sir_Christo, Christo, Cristo.
  • IRC nick: Christo
« Reply #2 on: May 29, 2012, 05:17:33 am »
Did the infantry really just march forward while getting shot at?

They had to.

Artillery was the key element of 18-19th century warfare.

If the two sides would just stand far from eachother, the artillery would simply bombard them to pieces.

There was nothing else they could do, really.
visitors can't see pics , please register or login

Thanks to cmpxchg8b for the picture!

Offline [ptx]

• King
  • Renown: 1871
  • Infamy: 422
  • cRPG Player Sir White Rook A Gentleman and a Scholar
  • such OP. so bundle of sticks. wow.
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: May 29, 2012, 07:53:40 am »