Author Topic: The Sword and Spear Way - Hoplites Guide  (Read 27975 times)

Offline Ronin

• Marshall
  • Renown: 859
  • Infamy: 198
  • cRPG Player
    • View Profile
The Sword and Spear Way - Hoplites Guide
« on: June 23, 2012, 11:06:31 pm »
+56
visitors can't see pics , please register or login

Prologue
First of all welcome to my guide. This is my first self-created guide in crpg forums, hope you will like it. Additionally, english is not my native language so I hope you ignore the grammatical and typing stuff.
The main reason why I started playing as a hoplite is, I got bored. So I tried STF, get frustrated at first then it turned out to be amazing. After seeing myself successful and not seeing any similiar guides, I thought to myself "why I do not write the thing myself?"

Disclaimer
(click to show/hide)

"By the Sword and By the Spear!"

What is a Hoplite?

Hoplite (Greek: Hoplites) is a troop used in ancient greece times, mainly as heavy infantry. Alexander The Great used hoplites as the backbone of the army and achieved great success. Moreover, if my sources aren't completely rubbish, some philosophers in ancient greece took place in the army as hoplites. In cRPG, the players who use spear alongside with a shield are called hoplites. Since this game is not focused on the ancient greek times, but takes place in the Medieval Era; where levied poor folks mostly used spear alongside with a shield, hoplites are mainly considered as "lame" infantry not "heavy" infantry. In cRPG they are called as "spartans" or "phalanxes".
Note: I might be wrong with these. Not really that sure.

Then why play as hoplite? I mean why we use a spear alongside with a shield?

There are many answers to this. But bee sure of that, not all of them are "but it's fuuun" :)

But of course, the first one is "it's so much fuuun" :D